Mike OlsoneXp Realty

Call 843-442-7992

The Johns Islander

Curated by Mike Olson · eXp Realty

Online · Johns Island, SC · Seabrook · Kiawah

Wide sandbar beach at Captain Sam's Inlet, Seabrook Island

Fishing · Kiawah · Seabrook · Johns Island · Wadmalaw

Fishing the islands

The tide for the creek you’re on, the wind, the water and the moon, live from NOAA and the National Weather Service. Then every rule South Carolina sets on what you can keep, each one linked to the page that says so.

Last verified

Photo: chucka_nc, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (resized)

Live on the islands

Reading the gauges…

Tide · Kiawah River

—ft

Reading NOAA…

NOAA Kiawah River Bridge (8667062)

Wind

—mph

Reading the NWS…

NWS KJZI

Water

—°F

Reading NOAA…

Moon & sun

—% lit

Computing…

Computed on your device

Today’s bite times

    What solunar periods are

    Solunar periods are a fishing tradition from the 1920s (John Alden Knight’s tables): the two hours around the moon passing overhead and underfoot are “major” periods, the hour around moonrise and moonset are “minor”, and days near the new and full moon are said to be better. No agency forecasts fish by it, and neither do we — the moon’s times here are real (computed on your device and checked against the U.S. Naval Observatory), the tradition is just a tradition.

    Tide: NOAA CO-OPS predictions for Kiawah River Bridge (8667062), MLLW datum; the height now is read between NOAA’s highs and lows. Wind: National Weather Service, Charleston Executive Airport (KJZI), or NOAA Charleston Harbor when the airport doesn’t report. Water: NOAA CO-OPS 8665530. Offshore: NDBC buoy files, read every ten minutes by this site. Sun and moon: computed in your browser. Predictions are not observations; a strong wind can push the water higher or lower than predicted.

    Guidance, not a promise

    Where can you fish today?

    Five ways to fish the islands, each read against the live wind, the NWS nearshore forecast, any advisory for the islands’ waters and the tide. The rules are printed below the calls — nothing hidden.

    • …

      Creeks & marsh

      Boat or kayak in the tidal creeks behind the islands

    • …

      Docks, piers & landings

      From a public dock, pier or landing — no boat

    • …

      The surf

      From the beach, wading or on the sand

    • …

      Inlets & sandbars

      The inlet mouths and bars, by boat or on foot at low water

    • …

      Nearshore, by boat

      Beyond the bar, inside 20 nautical miles (NWS zone AMZ360)

    Read from: no live wind · no seas forecast · reading NWS alerts · no tide reading · hourly forecast loading.

    How the calls are made
    Wind limits for each option, in sustained miles per hour
    OptionGood toWorkable toTough to
    Creeks & marsh15 mph22 mph30 mph
    Docks, piers & landings20 mph28 mph40 mph
    The surf10 mph15 mph25 mph
    Inlets & sandbars12 mph18 mph25 mph
    Nearshore, by boat10 mph15 mph20 mph
    • Past the Tough limit, the call is Stay in.
    • Thunder in the next six hours of the NWS hourly forecast makes every option Tough at best. When thunder roars, go indoors.
    • A gale, storm, tropical or special marine warning for the islands' waters keeps every boat option in.
    • Gusts more than 10 mph over an option's Good limit count as sustained wind for that option.
    • A small craft advisory for AMZ360 or Charleston Harbor keeps the nearshore option in.
    • Forecast seas: 2 ft or less Good, 3 ft Workable, 4 ft Tough, 5 ft or more Stay in.
    • A small craft advisory makes the inlets Tough at best.
    • Wind from the sea at 10 mph or more against a falling (outgoing) tide moves the inlets one step tougher.
    • Only the onshore part of the wind (from the sea onto the beach) counts against the surf; wind off the land counts as calm.
    • A rip current, high surf or beach hazards statement makes the surf Tough at best.

    These limits are this site’s rules of thumb for small boats, kayaks and wading, not a Coast Guard or NWS standard. The NWS sets its own small craft advisory criteria; the advisory itself is what the page reads. Lightning guidance: NWS lightning safety.

    Built from the numbers above

    Captain’s morning brief

    The Johns Islander · dock report

    Reading the gauges…

    Written by code on your device from today’s readings — no person or AI wrote it, and a reading that’s missing is left out, never guessed.

    NWS forecast · NOAA tides · the moon

    The week ahead

    The National Weather Service’s forecast for Kiawah Island, with each day’s tides at Kiawah River Bridge and the moon. Tap the station above to change the tides.

    Forecast: National Weather Service, Charleston SC office (grid CHS 81,68). Nearshore: NWS marine forecast, zone AMZ360. Tides: NOAA CO-OPS 8667062. Moon and solunar periods computed in your browser.

    SCDNR · SC Code Title 50 · NOAA Fisheries

    Know the rules

    If you’re 16 or older, you need a South Carolina Saltwater Recreational Fishing License to fish or to take oysters, clams, shrimp or crabs from salt water — from a boat, the beach, a dock or wading. It’s $15 a year for residents and $75 for nonresidents. Red drum changed on July 1, 2026: 1 per person a day, 2 per boat, in an 18–25 in. slot.

    The license

    Who needs one, and where to get it

    License fees

    July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027

    South Carolina saltwater license fees
    LicenseResidentNonresidentSource
    Saltwater fishing, annualGood for one year from the day you buy it.$15$75 Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10 · SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 8; checked October 13, 2026.
    Saltwater fishing, 3-year$45— Source: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10; checked October 13, 2026.
    Saltwater fishing, 14-day$10— Source: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10; checked October 13, 2026.
    Saltwater fishing, 7-day—$35 Source: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10; checked October 13, 2026.
    Saltwater fishing, 1-day—$10 Source: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10; checked October 13, 2026.
    Lifetime saltwater (ages 16–63)$300— Sources: SCDNR resident license prices · SC Code §50-9-520; checked October 13, 2026.
    Senior lifetime (64 and older; includes saltwater)$9— Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 9 · SC Code §50-9-530; checked October 13, 2026.
    Recreational crab trap endorsement (up to five traps)$5$5 Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10 · SC Code §50-9-540; checked October 13, 2026.
    Shrimp baiting license and tags, per season$25$500 Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 10 · SC Code §50-5-1100; checked October 13, 2026.

    A dash means SCDNR doesn’t sell that license to that group.

    Size and bag limits, state waters

    South Carolina’s limits from the shore out to three miles, from SCDNR’s 2026–27 guide and the SC Code. Total length is tip of the snout to the end of the tail; fork length stops at the fork.

    Size and bag limits by species in South Carolina state waters
    SpeciesSizePer personPer boatAlso
    Red drum (redfish)18–25 in. total length (slot)1 a day2 a dayNew July 1, 2026 (was 2 and 6, 15–23 in.). Rod and reel or gig only; no gigging December 1 – February 28. Possession is prohibited in federal waters. The online SC Code hasn't caught up yet; the Act and SCDNR's 2026–27 guide have. Sources: 2026 Act No. 231 (red drum limits, circle hooks), effective July 1, 2026 · SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SCDNR regulations guide 2026–27: finfish size & catch limits; checked October 13, 2026.
    Spotted seatrout14 in. total length minimum10 a day—Rod and reel or gig only; no gigging December 1 – February 28. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SC Code §50-5-1705 · SC Code §50-5-1710; checked October 13, 2026.
    Flounder (southern, summer and gulf)16 in. total length minimum5 a day10 a dayHook and line and gig count together. Limits set in 2021 (Act 91); a 2024 act removed their sunset, so they stay. No closed season. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SC Code §50-5-1705 · SCDNR regulations guide 2026–27: finfish size & catch limits; checked October 13, 2026.
    Sheepshead14 in. total length minimum10 a day30 a day Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SC Code §50-5-1705; checked October 13, 2026.
    Black drum14–27 in. total length (slot)5 a day— Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SC Code §50-5-1710; checked October 13, 2026.
    Whiting, spot and Atlantic croakerNo minimum50 a day, combined—The combined limit applies to hook and line. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SC Code §50-5-1705; checked October 13, 2026.
    Cobia36 in. fork length minimum1 a day6 a dayNorth of 32°31.0′ N (Jeremy Inlet, Edisto Island) — these islands are north of it (NOAA's Kiawah River gauge sits at 32.60° N). South of the line: 3 a boat, and closed in state waters May 1–31. State waters also close when federal waters do. Rod and reel or gig only in state waters; sale prohibited. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 49 · SC Code §50-5-1713 · SAFMC: cobia · NOAA tide station 8667062, Kiawah River Bridge (32.60° N); checked October 13, 2026.
    Spanish mackerel12 in. fork length minimum15 a day—The same in federal waters. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 49 · SAFMC: Spanish mackerel; checked October 13, 2026.
    King mackerel24 in. fork length minimum3 a day—The same in federal waters. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 49 · SAFMC: king mackerel; checked October 13, 2026.
    Tarpon77 in. fork length minimum1 a day—Rod and reel only. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 48 · SC Code §50-5-1705; checked October 13, 2026.
    Atlantic sharpnose and bonnethead sharksNo minimum1 of each a day—Rod and reel or hand line only; no gigging sharks. Non-offset, non-stainless circle hooks except with flies or artificial lures. From shore, the limits apply to each angler. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 52 · SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 46 · SC Code §50-5-2725; checked October 13, 2026.
    Blacktip, blacknose, bull, finetooth, lemon, nurse, spinner, tiger and other allowed sharks54 in. fork length minimum—1 a vessel a tripGreat, scalloped and smooth hammerheads: 78 in. fork length. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 52 · NOAA Fisheries HMS recreational compliance guide (April 2025); checked October 13, 2026.
    Prohibited sharksRelease at once, in the water00Atlantic angel, basking, bignose, dusky, Galapagos, shortfin and longfin mako, narrowtooth, night, oceanic whitetip, Caribbean reef, sandbar, sevengill, Caribbean sharpnose, silky, bigeye sixgill, sixgill, smalltail, bigeye thresher, bigeye sand tiger, sand tiger, whale and white sharks. Sources: SCDNR 2026–27 Hunting & Fishing Guide, p. 52 · SC Code §50-5-1705; checked October 13, 2026.

    Past three miles

    Federal waters

    Kiawah · Seabrook

    Island rules on top of the state's

    Beyond hook and line

    Oysters, crabs, shrimp and gigging

    Oysters & clams

    The shellfish season

    Blue crabs

    Traps, lines and limits

    Shrimp

    Baiting, cast nets and limits

    • Baiting season. Shrimp baiting is open from noon September 11 to noon November 9, 2026, per SCDNR's 2026–27 guide. The law has SCDNR set a 60-day season each year between September 1 and November 15. Sources: SCDNR regulations guide 2026–27: crustaceans & shellfish limits · SC Code §50-5-1100; checked October 13, 2026.
    • Baiting license. A shrimp baiting license with its ten pole tags costs $25 for residents and $500 for nonresidents. Source: SC Code §50-5-1100; checked October 13, 2026.
    • Poles. Poles no more than an inch thick, driven in, each with its SCDNR tag and reflective tape; ten poles per boat per day, the set no more than 100 yards end to end, sets at least 25 yards apart, never unattended, and none within 50 yards of a dock, public landing or ramp. Shrimp only over your own poles. Source: SC Code §50-5-1100; checked October 13, 2026.
    • Limit. 48 quarts of whole shrimp or 29 quarts headed, per boat (or per person without a boat) per day — the same for each set of baiting poles. December 16 through April 30, twelve dozen. Source: SC Code §50-5-1105; checked October 13, 2026.
    • Cast nets. A cast net over bait must have mesh of at least a half inch square (one inch stretched). The saltwater license covers shrimping with a cast net. Sources: SC Code §50-5-1110 · SCDNR regulations guide 2026–27: licenses; checked October 13, 2026.
    • Not allowed. Shrimp traps and pots are illegal. Trawling for personal use needs the same commercial licenses, areas and seasons as commercial trawling. Sources: SC Code §50-5-1100 · SCDNR regulations guide 2026–27: crustacean & shellfish methods; checked October 13, 2026.

    Flounder

    Gigging

    Bottlenose dolphins strand feeding at the water's edge on Seabrook Island

    Bottlenose dolphins strand feeding on Seabrook Island

    Photo: chucka_nc, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (resized)

    Share the water

    Dolphins, turtles, birds — and the fish you let go

    Protected wildlife

    What the law says, and who to call

    Release

    Circle hooks, descending devices and handling

    Public places, from the agencies that run them

    Where to fish

    Beaches, piers, docks and landings open to the public on and near the islands — who can use each, parking, fees, hours and its own rules. We don’t say what bites where; no agency publishes that. Each spot’s button sets the live panel to its nearest NOAA tide station. For beach parking by month and the county Gold Pass, see beach access.

    SCDNR species profiles and guides

    What’s here, month by month

    Months only where an SCDNR page gives months. A blank month means no official page states it — not that the fish is gone.

    Months each species is present and most abundant in South Carolina coastal waters, per SCDNR
    SpeciesJFMAMJJASOND
    Red drumJanuary: presentFebruary: presentMarch: presentApril: presentMay: most abundantJune: most abundantJuly: most abundantAugust: most abundantSeptember: most abundantOctober: most abundantNovember: presentDecember: present
    Spotted seatroutJanuary: presentFebruary: presentMarch: presentApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: most abundantNovember: most abundantDecember: most abundant
    Southern flounderJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: presentMay: most abundantJune: most abundantJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: presentDecember: not stated
    SheepsheadJanuary: presentFebruary: presentMarch: presentApril: presentMay: most abundantJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: most abundantNovember: most abundantDecember: present
    Black drumJanuary: presentFebruary: most abundantMarch: most abundantApril: most abundantMay: most abundantJune: most abundantJuly: most abundantAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: presentDecember: present
    Whiting (southern kingfish)January: presentFebruary: presentMarch: presentApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: presentDecember: present
    Spanish mackerelJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: presentDecember: not stated
    CobiaJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: not statedDecember: not stated
    TarponJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: most abundantAugust: most abundantSeptember: not statedOctober: not statedNovember: not statedDecember: not stated
    Florida pompanoJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: not statedMay: not statedJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: not statedDecember: not stated
    Atlantic croakerJanuary: presentFebruary: presentMarch: presentApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: presentDecember: present
    Atlantic sharpnose sharkJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: most abundantMay: most abundantJune: most abundantJuly: most abundantAugust: most abundantSeptember: most abundantOctober: not statedNovember: not statedDecember: not stated
    Coastal sharksJanuary: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: presentMay: most abundantJune: most abundantJuly: most abundantAugust: most abundantSeptember: not statedOctober: not statedNovember: not statedDecember: not stated
    Blue crabJanuary: presentFebruary: presentMarch: presentApril: presentMay: presentJune: presentJuly: presentAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: most abundantNovember: most abundantDecember: most abundant
    White shrimp (creeks)January: not statedFebruary: not statedMarch: not statedApril: not statedMay: not statedJune: not statedJuly: not statedAugust: presentSeptember: presentOctober: presentNovember: not statedDecember: not stated

    Most abundant or best, per SCDNR Present Not stated

    Verified on each business’s own site

    Charters, guides and bait & tackle

    Outfitters that leave from Bohicket Marina, Folly and the Stono, and the shops that sell bait and tackle nearby — listed by where they leave from, not ranked. Every line is from the business’s own website; call before you go. Dolphin tours, sunset cruises, shelling and kayaks are on charters & excursions; more places on the islands are in the directory.

    Charters and guides

    Bait, tackle and marinas

    Out for the day? The beach access guide has Beachwalker Park and the Gold Pass, the Ocean Course in 3D runs on the same NOAA tide and NWS wind, and if you’re looking at a place on the water, check its flood zone first.

    Boats in the slips at Bohicket Marina

    Boats in the slips at Bohicket Marina

    Photo: chucka_nc, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (resized)

    Two ways in

    Talk it through with Mike, or ask Val — the guide’s AI assistant, answering from this site’s sourced facts.